Home / Design / 10 Architecture Awards & Competitions every Architect must Participate

10 Architecture Awards & Competitions every Architect must Participate

Architects do need to compete in Architecture Awards to establish their presence in the profession. Winning in these Awards bring a larger audience and attention to their work and also, position them on the list of reliable and credible Architects. Online publications of these Award winners get them the well-deserved presence as anybody searches for their work feels glad to see their name among winners.

Being Cyrus has compiled the list of Architecture Awards & Competitions of varied types, where winning brings you the fame and progress in your work. These are some of the most acceptable Global Architecture Awards in the industry and also the participation is more economical than any other Award Programmes.

Global Architecture & Design Awards

Global Architecture & Design Awards is one of the world’s most prestigious Awards hosted by Rethinking The Future (RTF). RTF has been hosting Awards since 2012, and many esteemed Studios have been the winner of the Awards like Aecom, HOK, Aedas, Bjarke Ingels Group & Dialog, UNstudio, Perkins Eastman, etc. GADA is open to all the professionals and students across the world. GADA 2018 has offered more than 40 Categories divided into ‘Concept’ and ‘Built’. You can choose the categories that best suits your project. A panel of 25 reputable judges from across the globe will Award three Winners in each category. There will be more than 100 Awards.

Standard Registration Ending Soon

International Architecture Awards

One of the most famous Architecture Awards across the globe, International Architecture Awards hosted by Architecture Podium brings its winners to the top in the industry. After the huge success of previous International Architecture Awards, Architecture Podium is announcing IAA 2018. IAA is one of the renowned annual awards, which receives participation from all the major architecture and design studios across the globe. Some of the previous winners include Aedas, TerreformOne, Rockwell Group, Pepe Gascon Arquitectura, Nadaaa etc. International Architecture Awards offer 30+ Categories under three groups’ i.e.; Architecture, Interior Design and Product Design. Registration are open.

Registration Open

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture (AKAA), established by Aga Khan IV in 1977, is awarded every three years to an architectural project that meets the needs and preferences of Islamic societies. The Award seeks to identify and encourage architectural concepts in the fields of community development, area conservation, contemporary design, preservation of the environment and landscape design. AKAA gives a monetary prize with a total value of US$ 1 million multiple projects, teams, and stakeholders.

More Details

AIA Gold Medal

The Gold Medal is the highest annual honor awarded by the American Institute of Architects. It acknowledges an individual whose significant body of work has a lasting influence on architecture. Considered one of the most prestigious awards in the architecture world, the Gold Medal has been received by well renowned architects such as Frank Lloyd Wright, Frank Gehry, Julia Morgan, and Moshe Safdie.

More Details


The RIBA International Award is awarded by the Royal Institute of British Architects to buildings across the UK and around the world. The Award has been given annually over the last 50 years to people who achieved innovations in architecture, regardless of the form, size or budget. The RIBA International Award rewards “the excellent work being done by RIBA members around the world”.

More Details

Evolo Design Competition

Established in 2006 by architecture and design journal eVolo, the annual Skyscraper Competition is prestigious awards for high-rise architecture. It asks the following questions: What is a skyscraper in the twenty-first century? What are the historical, contextual, social, urban, and environmental responsibilities of these mega-structures? eVolo recognizes outstanding ideas that redefine skyscraper design through the implementation of novel technologies, materials, programs, aesthetics, or spatial organizations. Architects, students, engineers, and designers from anywhere in the world are eligible to participate.

More Details

120 Hours

This student-driven international competition uses a unique format where participants receive a mere 120 hours from the release of the brief to the project submission deadline in order to solve a complex and socially relevant assignment. Organized independently by students from the Oslo School of Architecture and Design, 120 Hours is based around topical subjects.

More Details

The Berkeley Prize

Established in 1998, The Berkeley Prize is endorsed by the Department of Architecture, University of California, Berkeley. Open only to full-time undergraduate architecture students, the competition encourages participants to expand their academic education by going into their communities and investigating how the built environment best serves and reflects the everyday lives of those for whom we design. Each year, a topic critical to the discussion of the social art of architecture is selected and a related question is posed; students are invited to submit a 500-word essay proposal in response. From this pool of essays, around twenty-five selected contestants move to the semi-finals where they are asked to submit a 2500-word essay expanding upon their proposals.

More Details

Fairy Tales: Architectural Storytelling Competition

Organized by New York-based online platform Blank Space, Fairy Tales invites architects, designers, writers, artists, engineers, illustrators, students and other creatives to submit their own unique architectural fairy tales. A successful entry crafts a text narrative through five images in the most spectacular way possible.

More Details

The Dencity Competition: Redevelopment of Informal Settlements

Organized by the interdisciplinary not-for-profit organization Shelter Global, the intent of this competition is to foster new conceptual ideas about how to better handle the growing density of unplanned cities. Contestants are asked to consider how design can empower communities and allow for a self-sufficient future. The competition limits constraints on participants in order to give them the freedom to think in the most creative ways possible: there are no restrictions in regards to site, program, or size. Architects, students, engineers, designers, thinkers, NGOs and organizations are all invited to participate with no requirement for professional qualifications.

More Details

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *